Infographic: The land area of South Africa’s nine provinces

South Africa has nine provinces, which vary in size from the small city region of Gauteng – home to more than a quarter of the population – to the great Northern Cape, by far the largest province but with the smallest population.

Bar graph and pie chart comparing the land area of South Africa's nine provinces. The provinces are the Eastern Cape, Free State, Gauteng, KwaZulu-Natal, Limpopo, Mpumalanga, Northern Cape, North West and Western Cape.

The land area of South Africa’s nine provinces, in order of size:

  • Gauteng: 18,178 square kilometres (1.5% of total)
  • Mpumalanga: 76,495 square kilometres (6.3%)
  • KwaZulu-Natal: 94,361 square kilometres (7.7%)
  • North West: 104,882 square kilometres (8.6%)
  • Limpopo: 125,755 square kilometres (10.3%)
  • Western Cape: 129,462 square kilometres (10.6%)
  • Free State: 129,825 square kilometres (10.6%)
  • Eastern Cape: 168,966 square kilometres (13.8%)
  • Northern Cape: 372,889 square kilometres (30.5%)
  • South Africa: 1,220,813 square kilometres (100%)

(Source: Statistics South Africa Community Survey 2016)

Map of South Africa's nine provinces

Find out more about South Africa’s provinces

Written and designed by Mary Alexander.
Updated 7 April 2018.
Comments? Email


More infographics


Creative Commons License
The graphics on this page are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International Licence.